Archive Links

Consumer Archive
CU System Archive
Market Archive
Products Archive
Washington Archive

News Now

CU System
CUNA announces 2011 Maxwell Herring Award winners
MADISON, Wis. (11/10/11)--Recipients of the 2011 Dora Maxwell Social Responsibility Community Service Award and the Louise Herring Philosophy-in-Action Member Service Award were recently chosen from among the state winning entries by Credit Union National Association's (CUNA) national awards committee. 

The 2011 Dora Maxwell Award first-place winners include:

  • Marinette County ECU in Marinette, Wis.;
  • Joplin Metro CU in Joplin, Mo.;
  • General CU in Fort Wayne, Ind.;
  • Space Age FCU in Aurora, Colo.;
  • Alabama CU in Tuscaloosa, Ala.;
  • Marine FCU in Jacksonville, N.C.;
  • State Employees' CU in Raleigh, N.C.; and
  • Western Chapter of the North Carolina Credit Union League, Penrose, N.C.
First-place winners of this year's Louise Herring Award are:

  • Communicating Arts CU in Detroit, Mich.;
  • St. Louis Community CU in St. Louis, Mo.;
  • Credit Union 1 in Anchorage, Alaska; and
  • Eastman CU in Kingsport, Tenn.
"The winners of these prestigious awards embody the philosophy and ideals of our movement, and we are honored to celebrate their achievements," commented CUNA President CEO Bill Cheney. 

"It's no wonder that so many consumers are turning to credit unions these days, which are led and guided by individuals such as these to ever higher levels of service to their members. Commitment to community involvement and member financial education remain at the core of credit union success, and these award winners have demonstrated their personal commitment to these core values for credit unions. Congratulations to them--and to all in the movement who share and practice their values," Cheney said.

Maxwell was an original signer of CUNA's constitution and organizer of hundreds of credit unions throughout the U.S. She also developed volunteer organizer clubs and worked with organizations on behalf of the poor.

The Maxwell award is presented to credit unions in eight asset-size categories and a chapter or multiple credit union group category for outstanding social responsibility projects in their communities. Activities may include: solving core community problems, coordinating supply drives for the needy, raising money or organizing special events for charitable organizations, or mentoring students.

Herring was also an original signer of CUNA's constitution when she was an Ohio delegate to the 1934 national credit union conference in Estes Park, Colo. She saw credit unions as more than just financial institutions and believed they should work to better people's lives.

The Herring award is given to a credit union demonstrating the internal application of credit union philosophy to help better financial matters and increase financial education for its members.  Examples include: exceptional member service, financial counseling for members experiencing difficulties, and educating members on the credit union difference. 

Winning entries will be on display at CUNA's 2012 Governmental Affairs Conference, March 18-March 22, in Washington, D.C. The award winners will be honored during a March 21 reception.

Use the link for the full list of winners.


News Now LiveWire
.@NACHAOnline report: ACH volume increases to 23B payments in 2014
1 day ago
.@CUNA's @HampelBill in @washingtonpost on options for wary mortgage borrowers:
1 day ago
Housing starts thaw, mortgage rates stand pat #Market #NewsNow
1 day ago
.@CUNA files #RBC2 comment, urges #CU system to be heard #NewsNow
1 day ago
#NewsNow Youth Month attracts 100,000th member for Mich. CU
1 day ago