Archive Links

Consumer Archive
CU System Archive
Market Archive
Products Archive
Washington Archive

News Now

CU System
Illinois league elects officers at annual convention
NAPERVILLE, Ill. (4/27/09)--The Illinois Credit Union League (ICUL) elected its table officers for the coming year, each to their second one-year terms, at its 79th Annual Convention April 16-18 in Chicago. Also, the ICUL Service Corp. elected one new director to its board. The Illinois Credit Union Foundation (ICUF), the Credit Union Political Action Council (CUPAC), and the Illinois Youth Involvement Council (IYIC) elected officers and directors to their respective boards. John Bratsakis, senior vice president of business development for Baxter CU in Vernon Hills, was re-elected as chairman for a one-year term. He also will serve in this capacity for the ICUL Service Corporation (LSC). Bratsakis has served on the league board since 2001 representing the Thomas W. Doig Chapter of Credit Unions. During this time, he also was chairman of the legislative committee, a member of the executive committee, and a member of the Credit Union Support Group (CUSG) committee. Dennis Hall, CEO of I.H. Mississippi Valley CU in East Moline, was re-elected as vice chairman. Hall started his credit union career more than 20 years ago and has been CEO for the past 11 years. He has been on the league board representing the Illinois Quad Cities Chapter of Credit Unions since 2001 and during this time was also a member of the legislative, executive, and Credit Union Support Group (CUSG) committees. Hall also will serve as LSC vice chairman. Geraldine Burek, CEO of South Division CU in Evergreen Park, was re-elected as secretary/treasurer. Burek has served as ICUL director representing the Southeast Chapter of Credit Unions since 2003. During that time, she was also chairman of the annual convention and legislative committees, and served on the executive committee and the CUPAC board for 21 years. Libby Calderone, CEO of Earthmover CU, Oswego, was elected to a three-year term as director of the ICUL Service Corp. (LSC). The LSC is a subsidiary of ICUL that provides electronic funds transfer, credit, debit, and prepaid card products, merchant, and collection services to more than 2,000 credit unions in 45 states. Also as part of the convention, the ICUF held its annual meeting and re-elected its officers and elected two new directors. Officers included:
* Ed Jacob, ICUF chairman and CEO, North Side Community FCU, Chicago; * Greg Worthen, ICUF vice chairman and director of lending, Olin Community CU, Bethalto; and * David Mooney, ICUF secretary/ treasurer and CEO, Alliant CU, Chicago.
Thomas Pierce, CEO, Canals & Trails CU, Lockport; and Michael Lee, president, Midwest region, Members United Corporate FCU, Warrenville, were each elected to a three-year term as a result of two directors retiring from the board. CUPAC elected a new chairman and board of directors at its annual meeting. Officers elected to one-year terms include:
* Karen Woods, CUPAC chairman and marketing director, Decatur Earthmover CU, Decatur; * Brenda Crane, CUPAC vice chairman and chief operating officer, Credit Union 1, Rantoul; * John Fiore, CUPAC secretary and CEO, Motorola ECU, Schaumburg; and * Tom Enos, CUPAC treasurer and business development director, First Northern CU, Chicago.
Board members re-elected to one-year terms include:
* Christine Dickover, CEO of H-F CU, Country Club Hills; * Pete Fauth, vice president/chief financial officer, Financial Plus CU, Ottawa; * Mike Frye, chairman, Shell Community FCU, East Alton; * RaeAnn Love, CEO, Commonwealth CU, Bourbonnais; * Frank Padak, CEO, Scott CU, Collinsville; and * Robert Schroeder, CEO, Illinois Community CU, Sycamore.
The IYIC re-elected its executive committee, also during the convention. The members include:
* Melissa Brown, DHCU Community CU; * Shelli Chesnutt, Aurora Policemen CU, Aurora; and * Jeri Hansen, Danville Consolidated CU, Danville.


News Now LiveWire
Final field-of-membership rule tops April 30 NCUA agenda
2 hours ago
.@CUNA's @Nussle speaks to @VonnieQuinn about #StoptheDataBreaches and reg. relief.
4 hours ago
RT @NCUFoundation: .The Foundation's @hylandhighway with @NatlJumpStart President/CEO Laura Levine at #FLHillDay2015 today:…
7 hours ago
Seriously underwater homes rise, new-home sales tumble News Now:
7 hours ago
#NewsNow Cornerstone Foundation awards $71K in grants
8 hours ago