Archive Links

Consumer Archive
CU System Archive
Market Archive
Products Archive
Washington Archive

News Now

CU System
Pressing Compliance Issues audio conference next week
MADISON, Wis. (9/30/09)--Another "Pressing Credit Union Compliance Issues" audio conference will be offered next week to address new "hot topics" in the compliance area, according to the Credit Union National Association (CUNA). The conference is set for Wednesday, Oct. 7 from 1 p.m. to 2:30 p.m. CDT (or 2-3:30 p.m. EDT; 12 to 1:30 p.m. MDT; and 11 a.m.-12:30 p.m. PDT). Participants can:
* Get ready to comply with the Internet gambling regulations, effective Dec. 1--with commonly asked questions; * Understand what changes must be made in their overdraft programs by year-end (Truth-in-Savings regulations are effective Jan. 1) and get an update on the Fed's Reg E proposal on charging fees on ATM and one-time debit card overdrafts; * Get a quick review of the Department of Housing and Urban Development's (HUD) amended Real Estate Settlement Procedures Act (RESPA) regulation (effective Jan. 1), and the agency's recently issued "Frequently Asked Questions on RESPA; * Get an update on a recently issued Currency Transaction Reporting (CTR) Exemption with Frequently Asked Questions; * Prepare for the new Reg Z open-end lending provisions, with four things your credit union should do now (effective next July); and * Hear where things stand on the implementation of the Credit Card Act provisions scheduled to go into effect Feb. 22, on proposed regulations and congressional concerns.
Also, CUNA Regulatory Affairs staff will provide quick status updates on:
* Implementation of the Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing (SAFE) Act's Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System and Registry; * The Fed's Reg Z proposal on closed-end mortgage lending and home equity lines of credit rules; * Financial Crimes Enforcement Network's (FinCEN) plan to issue a proposal to apply the Bank Secrecy Act to store value cards; and * Fair and Accurate Credit Transactions Act (FACTA) rulemaking on risk-based pricing.
Cost is $89 for the live audio conference, which also includes six months' access to the archive. For more information, use the link.
Other Resources

RSS print
News Now LiveWire
The Hill reports House Republicans plan to delay Aug. recess to stay in D.C. until they have enough votes to pass bill on border crisis.
10 hours ago
The FHLBs of Des Moines and Seattle announce they have entered into an exclusivity arrangement regarding potential merger of the 2 entities.
11 hours ago
SunCorp and @AlloyaCorp have announced their intent to merge.
13 hours ago
.@TheNCUA bars former employee of Southwest Communities FCU,Melissa Rosing,from work at any federally insured FI. http://t.co/owtVnPxVZT
13 hours ago
Fryzel added @TheNCUA is fed. governmt, thereby will B criticized, but always tried 2 do what is right. McWatters still 2 B sworn in.2of2
16 hours ago