Archive Links

Consumer Archive
CU System Archive
Market Archive
Products Archive
Washington Archive

News Now

CU System
Ten inducted to CU House Hall of Leaders
WASHINGTON (3/4/11)--Ten credit union leaders who have made a significant impact on the credit union movement at the local, state or national level were inducted into the Credit Union House 2011 Hall of Leaders this week. Inductees are:
* Harold Allen, Nebraska. Allen has dedicated 30 years to advancing the credit union movement. He has served on the University of Nebraska FCU's board of directors and the Nebraska Credit Union League board. He has been an active volunteer on behalf of credit unions in legislative advocacy efforts on the state and national level. * D.S. "Scotty" Broome, Mississippi. Broome is the former president/CEO of the $1.86 billion asset Keesler, FCU, Biloxi, Miss. He retired in June 2010 after 34 years of service and was active on the legislative advocacy front on behalf of the military, veterans and the Defense Credit Union Council. * Raymond Brunner, Pennsylvania. Brunner, president/CEO of WEST-AIRCOMM FCU, Beaver, Pa., is currently chairman of the board of the Pennsylvania Credit Union Association (PCUA) . He has served on the PCUA board since 1999. He is responsible for leadership in developing a new board governance structure for PCUA. * James Bryan, Texas. Bryan is former president of Texans CU from 1975 to 2003, and served as chairman of the boards of the Texas Credit Union League, Southwest Corporate FCU and CUNA Mutual Group, as well as a board member of the Credit Union National Association (CUNA). He also served on the Federal Reserve Bank's Thrift Institutions Advisory Council and the Filene Research Institute Research Council. He was named the league's 2002 Credit Union Professional of the Year and inducted in 2004 into the Texas Credit Union Hall of Fame. * William Eckhardt, Alaska. President/CEO of Alaska USA FCU since 1979 after joining the credit union staff in 1971, Eckhardt has served on the CUNA Mutual Board of Directors since July 2005, is past chairman and current board member of the Alaska Credit Union League, and is a past board member of CUNA . He is also chairman of Alaska USA Insurance Agency and Alaska USA Trust Co., and was recipient of the league's Horace Bremner award twice for his contributions to the Alaska movement. * John Fiore, Illinois. Fiore, CEO of Motorola Employees CU, Schaumburg, Ill., is recognized for more than 40 years' devotion to the movement. He has served as an Illinois Credit Union League director since 1989, a board member of the Illinois Credit Union Foundation since 1987, a past board member of CUNA and the National Credit Union Foundation. He also has served on the board of the Illinois Credit Union Political Action Council and as a trustee of the Credit Union Legislative Action Council. * Gene Hensley (posthumously), Tennessee. Hensley, who died Feb. 19, 2010, served as president/CEO of Appalachian Community FCU (formerly Mead Kingsport CU), Kingsport, Tenn., for 31 years. He served on the board of directors of the Tennessee Credit Union League, as board treasurer for Mutual Guaranty Corp., and was a board member of Volunteer Corporate CU. He also was president of the Northeast Tennessee Chapter of the league. * John Murphy, Maine. Murphy, who is the long-time president of the Maine Credit Union League and its subsidiary, Synergent, has provided more than 32 years' service with the credit union movement at all levels, including statewide and national. * Robert Walls, Delaware. Walls was president of the Delaware Credit Union League from 1992 until 2005. He is a member of CUNA's board of directors. Walls served as a member of the site selection committee for Credit Union House and served on its board of directors and as chairman. He is active in the American Association of Credit Union Leagues and was instrumental in establishing and served as chairman of the Mid-Atlantic Regional Service Corp., a multi-league service corporation. * Jim Williams, Texas. Williams was has worked with a number of credit unions as manager or president since 1960, including Texas Crossroads FCU, Government Employees CU, Texas Central CU, and Amarillo Air Force Base CU. Currently he is consultant to Texas Dow Employees CU. A former chairman of the Texas Credit Union League board, he was inducted into the Texas Credit Union Hall of Fame in 1999. Williams was appointed by the governor to the Texas Credit Union Commission, which he served from 1971 to 1979. He also was a national director and board chairman of CUNA and served as CUNA's president from 1979 to 1986.
The Credit Union House Hall of Leaders was launched in 2008. The names of inductees and their sponsoring organizations will be prominently displayed at Credit Union House.


News Now LiveWire
Final field-of-membership rule tops April 30 NCUA agenda
14 hours ago
.@CUNA's @Nussle speaks to @VonnieQuinn about #StoptheDataBreaches and reg. relief.
16 hours ago
RT @NCUFoundation: .The Foundation's @hylandhighway with @NatlJumpStart President/CEO Laura Levine at #FLHillDay2015 today:…
19 hours ago
Seriously underwater homes rise, new-home sales tumble News Now:
19 hours ago
#NewsNow Cornerstone Foundation awards $71K in grants
21 hours ago